Skip to content

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth, Rob Biddulph

Subjects

  • Action Adventures - chills, thrills and plenty of spills

Average rating

5 out 5

A richly atmospheric story of survival and hope set in Tibet and India, filled with friendship, love and courage. This young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for fans of Katherine Rundell, Lauren St John or Polly Ho-Yen.

Reviews

Loved it. Felt I learnt a lot about the part of the world. Enjoyed the relationship that developed with the pet. Exciting adventure.

Bossyteacher 29.08.2020

I’m quite guilty of mainly reading books with magical settings or based in the UK and part of my summer reading goal was to try and widen the settings and read books with more diverse characters. Tash and Sam are Buddhists living in Chinese-occupied Tibet. I really enjoyed reading about their adventures but it also made me think about the prior knowledge required to really enjoy the book. For example, yaks play an important role but I’m not sure many of my class would know what one looked like!

MissHoal 19.08.2020

Great book that deals with a big issue in a easy to read way. Short quick chapters make it easy to read and makes you realise the danger the characters are constantly in. A good heroine who you can empathise with throughout the book

caffries 16.08.2020

Back to top